The Next Chapter

images

 

I’m not a writer. I’m not artistic. I don’t really think that I’m even that interesting. 

Regardless of these facts, I’ve been feeling the need to write down my thoughts. I want to be able to reflect on my week, focus on the ups and downs, and learn from the mistakes of myself and others. 

The next year of my life is going to be full of opportunities to do exactly ^that^ and I need a place to come to when I’m trying to sort it all out.

My whole life is going to change in less than six months and while I am a nervous wreck every time I think about it, I don’t see this as a bad thing or as a reason to change my mind. As cliche as it sounds I expect the next year to be the biggest learning experience of my life (yes, more of a learning experience than college). 

May 7 marks the beginning of this journey. Deanna and I are going to Europe to travel through Holland, France, Spain and Greece. Then right after this trip comes to an end I’m unpacking my bags only to repack them and moving to New York City. I’m stripping down to the essentials of my current life (select clothes, pictures, cell phone, laptop) and beginning a new one in, what is in my opinion, one of the most amazing cities in the world.

There has been much speculation on my reasons for moving to this particular city, and I would like to believe that all of them are both true and false. I have a lot of reasons to move but none of which are more important than any other. I have things to learn, experiences to experience, dreams to dream,  and people to meet. That’s it, plain and simple. Despite what happens in my life in NYC I am ready for it and I refuse to regret a single thing.

One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years.Tom Wolfe

